Skip to content

Brasserie Bread gluten-free cooking class

April 7, 2011

As soon as I read in their newsletter that Brasserie Bread were planning a gluten-free cooking class, I called up and booked a place. If a fantastic bakery like them were putting their bread making skills and knowledge behind creating a good gluten-free loaf of bread, then I wanted to know about it.

Matt, the chef who took the class told us he had been experimenting with various flours and techniques, and getting gf people as well as normal bread eating people to taste test for him along the way. I loved the fact that he is experimenting, and that he plans to continue his experiments in this quest for an edible gf loaf. The bread he has come up with, and that he guided up through making has a combination of rice flour, millet flour, buckwheat flour, chickpea flour and xanthum gum. It was a yeast bread…sourdough still in the planning phases. It’s not bad…for gf bread. Good enough for a sandwich – thumbs up from Tara who took a goats cheese sandwich two days in a row to school. It toasts pretty well. And it doesn’t have the two features of gf bread that I hate – the dry, crumbly texture or strong egg smell and taste. I hope Matt continues with his experiments and manages to come up with a good sourdough version. Unfortunately they will never sell a gf loaf in their shop because of cross contamination from all the wheat flour they have flying around in their bakery. They will be selling the flour used in the bread and all the lovely sweet treats we made, later this month from their shop.

We made some lovely gluten-free treats. A sweet shortcrust pastry using that gf flour and almond meal. We used the pastry cases for apricot frangepani tarts, for a savoury tart (filled with rocket, goats cheese and smoked trout) that we had for dinner. The raspberry friands were delicious and light. Very popular with Andrew who has eaten most of the 6 that I brough home. He keeps eating them despite the fact that there are plenty of gluten filled cakes and other treats in the house! Outrageous. Both the friands and apricot tarts are a gf version of what is currently sold in the shop. They taste just as good as the non-gf version. It was nice having something gf that was fun, delicious and did not feel like I was going to be ‘missing out’ on anything by being good and sticking to the gf thing.

I will definitely make the friands again – they were so easy and delicious. The bread has inspired me to continue with my own experiments in a quest to create a good sourdough gf loaf.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2011 10:19 PM

    We have a family member continually on a quest to find the perfect gf bread too, its awesome that a chef like Matt is testing & taste testing as he tweeks his recipe isn’t it, so important to get it really right. How fantastic that they will be selling the flour blend, now that’s exciting. Sounds like a fantastic day too 🙂

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      April 8, 2011 8:35 AM

      Ah you will have to let us know if your family member succeeds in his/her quest. I have a feeling that this one might be like the quest I was on for many years as a young child. I was like a little alchemist, convinced I could work out how to make chocolate from scratch. Ofcourse I knew very little (nothing?) about cocoa mass, cocoa butter and the rest, and certainly didn’t have access to any of that stuff in India. But I was still convinced I could do it and often cooked up strange concoctions….. Ahh…the innocence of youth eh?!
      Trying to make decent bread with gluten could well fall into a similar category!

  2. April 8, 2011 8:04 AM

    Ooh, so lucky to try these! I’m impressed he chef wants to nail the GF bread when he doesn’t ‘need’ too personally. You’ll have to make the goodies and do step by step on the blog. It’s always a good sign when the gluten free food gets gobbled up by those who have gluten full choices! Yumm…

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      April 8, 2011 8:32 AM

      That’s exactly what I think Chef – if someone who does not ‘need’ to eat gf, but chooses something gf over standard, then that is a huge tick of approval for the gf version. I will do a step-by-step of the friands – they were the best friands I have eaten in a long time.

  3. April 8, 2011 10:33 AM

    oh wow look at all the baked goods yum the friand looks delish!

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      April 12, 2011 8:25 AM

      I have to make those friands again soon…they were really good. Makes me realise how stale the friands are that most cafes sell!

  4. April 11, 2011 7:24 AM

    Gorgeous photos, SG! Sounds like a great day – the friand sounds like a winner. Gluten-free bread – it’s a hard and constant quest!

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      April 12, 2011 8:24 AM

      Feeling rather disheartened with my GF sourdough quest. Don Quixote like. Attempt this week turned out like a sour brick. Sigh.

  5. April 12, 2011 6:37 AM

    Those friands look delicious! I hope you do get to work out a GF sourdough bread.
    I really like Brasserie Breads. I love the fact that they hold free bread making classes on the weekends. I can’t imagine many big companies doing that.

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      April 12, 2011 8:23 AM

      The concept of them offering free classes is totally amazing. I had to read that sign twice before I understood it! Good for them. I love to see people/companies who are passionate about what they are doing, sharing their knowledge.

Leave a Reply

