Skip to content

Mother’s day breakfast

May 9, 2011

This was my mothers day breakfast. Sweet little Tara had the overly ambitious (for an 8 year old) plan to make me home made crumpets, hollandaise sauce, poached eggs. It ended up requiring a fair bit of assistance from me and a lot of mess in the kitchen. But there was so much love in it that it made it all worth while. Tasted mighty fine too. Particularly with the orange juice Sam painstakingly made for me, in the most difficult manner possible of course. And coffee. Lots of coffee. My mum and dad came to breakfast as well and my mum soaked up all the love and attention from the kids.

I spent the rest of the morning lying out in the sun reading a book while the kids gave me hand and foot massages. Pretty much my ideal way to spend a sunny day. After some snoozing in the sun we went for a nice long bike ride in the national park.

I feel so lucky and blessed to have these wonderful little people in my life and to have the chance to experience motherhood.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2011 8:28 AM

    Now that would have been a lovely day. What great kids you have, and I love the fact that Tara wanted to make all that for you.
    Motherhood is a pretty special experience isn’t it.

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      May 9, 2011 4:07 PM

      Motherhood is the best…we are so lucky to get to experience it aren’t we Brydie? I know so many people who would have loved to have had this experience but for many reasons haven’t been able to. Makes me more grateful for my luck and joy.

  2. May 9, 2011 9:02 AM

    What a fabulous day! Breakfast looks divine.. 🙂

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      May 9, 2011 4:05 PM

      It was fabulous…so lucky!

  3. May 9, 2011 12:02 PM

    How lovely! Tell your kiddies the breakfast is making me hungry, I am very impressed with them. I got breakfast in bed, but it took 2 hrs for them to make it!

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      May 9, 2011 4:05 PM

      Ah this one was never going to make it as ‘breakfast in bed’. I did try asking for breakfast in bed and got an orange and then pleading from Tara to come and help her as the “recipe made no sense at all”!

  4. May 9, 2011 3:56 PM

    Tara and Sam have put together quite a breakfast for you. You are obviously quite an inspiration for them

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      May 9, 2011 4:03 PM

      Hmm…I hope they don’t think of me as an “impossible to satisfy” kind of mother. There is a little part of me that wonders why (and worries that) they feel they have to make the crumpets from scratch as well as everything else…bad example from me I guess!

      • May 10, 2011 2:06 AM

        I am sure it is not that way A 🙂 You always want to do something extra for those you love

  5. May 12, 2011 5:07 PM

    What an awesome breakfast, pretty clever kids you’ve got there. Happy belated Mothers Day my friend 🙂

Leave a Reply

