Skip to content

Greetings from Copenhagen

June 26, 2011

 

I am in Denmark, the country rated as the happiest in the world. My plan was to figure out the secret to their happiness and fill my pockets with some of it to bring home. After a week here I am not sure that I have really figured it out, but I have found a few clues. The Danes I was meeting with (yes, I had three days of work to do which was the real reason for the trip) told me that the more tax people pay the happier they are. We think we have high tax rates in Australia, but it is nothing compared to Denmark (63% is the highest rate that kicks in at about $75K, and the starting rate is 42% which kicks in at about $10K!). I think the fact that they get 6 weeks leave a year might have something to do with it. And their focus on quality of life. But that is another story.

I have been turning up to my meetings with boxes of Danish pastries. I am on a mission to try out all the recommended bakeries that I “researched” (googled) before I left home and that the locals have been telling me about. Having a captive audience of meeting attendees works really well for me. They think I am mad, not realising that what I really want to do when I see those great pastry displays is to take a bite out of each one. Taking a box of them each day to the meeting allows me to do that as everyone cuts them in half or quarters. Perfect!

And the verdict? The pastries in the second picture which were from a shop called Lagkagehuset were nicer than the first which were from Skt Peders Bageri. Overall though I can’t say that I am totally bowled over by them as I expected to be. I think I have had as nice or better versions back in Sydney. Luckily there are other things to keep me swooning here in Copenhagen …more about that later!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2011 8:06 AM

    That’s where you’ve been! Sounds like you’re having fun! 🙂

  2. June 26, 2011 10:13 AM

    What a lovely place to be sent for work, I hope you have a ‘happy’ visit!

  3. June 26, 2011 10:16 PM

    heh i think the secret to happiness is in that box of danish omg so jealous!

  4. June 27, 2011 6:31 AM

    First of all congrats about the contest you guys won at work. I remember your telling me about the trip when we met at your place.

    And you won’t believe what a coincidence this is. I just read this post as I proofed and published my mom’s Scandinavia diaries including our trip to Denmark. I apparently took my first steps there!

  5. June 27, 2011 9:13 PM

    Lucky Ducky. Im so jealous, and you might be able to find these little tasty gems in Sydney town, but seriously, how cool is it that you get to munch on these on the other side of the world?! YUM! PS: Hope your having a splendid time.

  6. July 1, 2011 1:01 PM

    How could anyone NOT eat danish’s in Denmark? I hope you kept trying them all out…
    Enjoy your trip.

  7. July 15, 2011 8:19 AM

    Have a hygelig time!

Leave a Reply

