Skip to content

Sourdough pizza with fresh porcini

July 22, 2011

On my second day in Copenhagen I hired a bike and rode around the city and outskirts. It was a great way to see the place. Very flat so quite suitable for my ability level on a bicycle! And so safe with the fantastic bike lanes and polite cyclists. I was determined to find some Danish food for lunch. But as I rode around I started to wonder if pizza and shwarma were the only foods available. In desperation in the end I stopped at a pizza place, drawn by their sign that advertised sourdough pizza. You know about me and sourdough! It was a great little place and the pizza was fantastic. Went well with a cold glass of prosecco. The aroma alone of the fresh porcini mushrooms would have been enough to satisfy me.  tiny bit of Italian sausage with a strong flavour of fennel was a perfect combination. Yum! At the end of my meal I had a chat with the guy at the counter and asked him about the dough they were using. It seemed remarkably dry for a sourdough pizza dough and I wondered if they had added yeast to it. He was quite horrified by my suggestion of added yeast and assured me that it was 100% sourdough with a starter they had going for 45 years. He said overtime they have made the dough drier to suit the palate of their customers a bit more and it took a lot of tweaking to get it to that state. As always when I am in places like this with great dough I really just want to ask them to give me a ball of dough to play with, so I can check out its texture myself. I usually want the recipe too. At our local pizza place in Sydney they give the kids a ball of dough to play with and shape, and they bake their creations for them before the meal is over. Why do kids get to have all the fun?! Not that I am particularly tempted to have dough from our local pizza place. I might have to take one of my children with me to Copenhagen next time and use them as the excuse to ask for some dough! 🙂 I wish I could make sourdough pizza bases like this. I’d need that woodfired oven too ofcourse…

As I rode around on my bicycle I stopped and bought some strawberries. I am not a huge fan of strawberries, mostly finding them pretty tasteless. But these strawberries had such a great summery, fruity smell as I rode past them that in the end I had to stop and get some. And they were superb. Perfect little burst of sweetness to cart around in my bicycle basket as I rode along.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2011 1:48 PM

    That’s a nice idea giving kids dough to play with at the restaurant – you can never start them too young on breadmaking, I reckon!

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      July 22, 2011 2:36 PM

      I agree. But don’t you think the adults should get some too? Perhaps we need an official looking “sourdough baker” badge that grants us access to really good doughs…as only we would truly appreciate them!

  2. July 22, 2011 2:32 PM

    I want to play with some dough too! The photo of the strawberries with the map is just lovely and looks like it was professionally posed and styled.

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      July 22, 2011 2:36 PM

      Ha ha, not at all styled. More a case of taking a photo of my basket using my phone as I paused by the side of the road to answer a call!

  3. July 22, 2011 8:21 PM

    Hot damn that pizza looks good. Just the way I like my pizza to look too. Although my sourdough bases never quite look like that 😦
    I love the imagery of you biking around snacking on strawberries as you went along. A wonderful summery image to counter balance our weather at the moment.

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      July 26, 2011 11:09 AM

      It is an image I am trying to hold on to as well…to survive the new few weeks. Mind you, it is a gorgeous sunny day today and I have just been sitting in the sun having my breakfast. Bliss.

  4. July 23, 2011 7:40 AM

    An old friend of mine goes to an island called Samso every summer where he organises the summer strawberry pickers for the farmer and has a whale of a time. If you had Samso strawberries they are supposed to be excellent! That pizza looks wonderful too. Sounds like such a good trip you had.

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      July 26, 2011 11:07 AM

      That sounds fantastic. Just reading about it makes me feel like eating some strawberries. Yum!

  5. July 24, 2011 10:18 PM

    Yummers, that pizza looks amazing, absolutely creams the pizza I made for dinner tonight. I adore mushrooms. Love the strawberries too. My broski would be completely impressed with your cycling adventures, such a great way to experience the delights of a town. 🙂

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      July 26, 2011 11:07 AM

      I love mushrooms too Anna…and fresh porcini are just divine. I remember cooking up a big pan of them when I first went to Italy. When you buy the porcini they give you some springs of a wild herb that you are supposed to cook them with. I noticed this in other places in Italy as well on subsequent visits. Such a lovely tradition…and delicious too! And yeah, I wish I could make pizza like this at home too. No chance!

Trackbacks

  1. seven « Cityhippyfarmgirl

Leave a Reply

