Skip to content

Restaurationen – Copenhagen

August 24, 2011

I’d like to share with you some photos of a lovely meal I had in Copenhagen. As well as some internet research before my trip, I also asked the local Dane who was hosting our meeting to recommend some restaurants. I had scribbled down the list of names without much hope of necessarily being able to find any of them.

After a long day of work and more I was wandering through the streets making my way back to my hotel, or so I thought. I ended up getting quite lost and then all of a sudden found myself outside Restaurationen – one of the restaurants on my list! I was tired, hungry and fairly grubby by this stage. Not to mention having quite a few bags with me – laptop, shopping and more. I poked my head into this very quiet, very sober-looking place and asked if they had a table. They looked a bit surprised to see me – I don’t think I quite fit the image of the place or the other diners there. But to their credit, they recovered quickly and warmly invited me in.

The food was superb. The service great. And I particularly loved the gorgeous old Royal Copenhagen porcelain plates and bowls they served the food on. The woman who was serving me (I figured out later that she was the owner – part of the husband and wife team that own a few fantastic restaurants in Copenhagen) told me that they started collecting the pieces quite by accident. Her husband received a handsome looking dish from his Uncle’s estate – it is proudly displayed in the restaurant, and that started them on this journey. As the saying goes: we eat with our eyes first. I have to say those plates certainly made the food look and taste better.

I should have kept notes on what the dishes were so I could tell you…but I was too busy enjoying them. Their focus was on local produce, right down to some strange forest herbs that I had not encountered before. It was a degustation style of meal so don’t be (too) shocked by how many things I ate…and yes, I ate it all apart from the dessert which was the only disappointing part of the meal. The restaurant can be found at Møntergade 19, 1116 K, Copenhagen. Tel: +45 33 14 94 95 http://www.restaurationen.dk/uk.html

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2011 4:06 PM

    I am never surprised by how much you eat. 🙂

    I love the beautiful plates and the food looks divine – how nice that their plate collection should be put to daily use rather than hoarded!

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      August 25, 2011 9:51 AM

      It does look quite obscene when I see all those photos together and realise it was all one meal! And yes, I loved the fact that they used their plate collection. Very special.

  2. August 25, 2011 7:41 PM

    It looks like a lovely meal, and are they slices of white truffle I see? The plates are certainly lovely, I’m sure things taste better on lovely plates, I don’t get plastic at all – except tupperware sippycups for littlies!

  3. August 26, 2011 11:43 PM

    That is one meal? You are amazing! And this looks delicious – I love that triangular shaped dish (cake?). It looks divine, especially with the green and red sauces so artfully displayed!

Leave a Reply

