Skip to content

Three little things that brightened my day

September 9, 2011
tags:

Sam writing “I love you” in the frosted window of my car when I dropped him off at the station. Nothing said, just a little message left for me.


This lovely clutch of eggs. The warmer weather seems to have kicked off an egg laying frenzy. I spotted the chooks through the kitchen window, happily scratching around in the straw Sam had spread around for them. They love the straw – eating bits and digging underneath hoping for worms. I took out some kitchen scraps for them and was suprised to see so many eggs neatly laid and waiting for me!

This picture popped up as my screen saver when I turned on my computer this morning. One of the gorgeous flowers photos I took in and around Copenhagen. I recently created a folder of photos of travel, places, flowers, and other happy photos and set it to appear randomly as screen savers. I can recommend it as a cheery start to a work day.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2011 3:51 PM

    Lovely post! Your Sam is so sweet, and I’m happy to hear the chooks are laying again! How many do you have now?

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      September 9, 2011 4:08 PM

      Still the same 7 chooks we have had for a while. I think the warm weather got them going and all seven laid an egg yesterday and today. Sam is a sweetie. He is doing a card for the neighbour’s son, on behalf of his chickens, to say thanks for the vegie scraps that he brings around most evenings. The plan is to stick it on a carton of eggs for him. Very cute.

  2. September 9, 2011 6:35 PM

    How cute! Lucky you, and lucky chooks to be that happy 🙂

  3. September 9, 2011 8:43 PM

    the post brightened my day as I remembered the wonderful day I spent with all of you

  4. September 9, 2011 9:05 PM

    How sweet to get a frosty window message.

    Don’t you just love how chooks manage to lay their eggs in the same nesting box as everyone else..without breaking any! They are such clever creatures (at times)…

  5. September 9, 2011 9:49 PM

    That Sam sounds like quite the man! Romantic, thoughtful and a hard worker too! You are blessed! Love your eggs, I’m jealous that you have chickens!

  6. September 10, 2011 6:10 AM

    First timer here. Cute blog.

    Sam sounds like a keeper! Your chooks reminds me of my childhood – we had about 10-12 of them 😀

  7. September 10, 2011 8:53 AM

    Chickens and eggs and love and flowers – who could ask for more? Absolutely lovely 🙂

  8. September 10, 2011 10:51 PM

    What a honey Sam is, and I ADORE the flower, so pretty. 🙂

  9. September 13, 2011 12:50 PM

    They are three lovely things 🙂
    Happy chooks indeed, look at all those lovely eggs.
    (I’m dying to know…how was your trip?)

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      October 10, 2011 7:06 PM

      Sorry, Brydie, been totally negligent of all things blog related. I should have written earlier – will send an email. Trip was pretty awesome.

  10. October 6, 2011 6:53 PM

    Good to hear your chooks are laying. I miss having fresh eggs of my own

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      October 10, 2011 7:05 PM

      It’s hard to go back to shop-bought after having freshly-laid eggs, isn’t it?!

  11. October 10, 2011 11:30 AM

    Your Sam is a real sweetie. And that is just so many eggs from 7 happy hens. I aspire to have a chook pen of my own!

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      October 10, 2011 7:05 PM

      We have had a total egg bonanza for the last few weeks. Eggs being distributed to neighbours and anyone who comes to visit and still we have too many! Sam is a sweetie. He made some lemon curd yesterday using 10 eggsa nd for once I was happy about the large number of eggs in the recipe!

Leave a Reply

