Skip to content

Shhh…the bees are back home

October 19, 2011

I brought my precious cargo home on Monday night. Driving slowly and oh-so-carefully around corners, it reminded me of the trip home from hospital with the new-born baby in the car. So many lunatics on the road…so many bumps….too many corners…stop driving so close to me. Yes, I am going slower than the speed limit. Get over it. Thank goodness for the German steering and suspension in my car. Andrew offered me his car to bring the bees home. “Don’t be ridiculous I say to him, your car is not good enough for this trip”. Yes, I am quite mad.

But it makes me happy to see my bees settling into their new home. Happily buzzing around while they do their orientation flights. Watching them come home so loaded up with pollen they are wobbly-flighted, sometimes missing the entrance and falling in the gap. I sit in the sun with my coffee, watching them and wondering if bees have a harmonious life in the hive. I know the chickens often fight to assert pecking order. The dog has to try to impose her own pecking order on all the creatures in our garden. The big goldfish chases the smaller goldfish (who grows her tail ever wider so she looks bigger from the back. I imagine her saying “does my butt look bigger with this tail?”). I want to know about the social life of the bees inside the hive. They all have their roles and seem to just get on with it. Do they fight, wish for other roles, envy, resent? I suspect not. I wish I could be a bee sometimes. Just get on with my work, my jobs, my responsibilities. Not waste time. Be a better person. Not shout at my kids when I am trying to juggle too many things. Not feel despondent when I don’t get anything done (well).

15 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2011 4:30 PM

    But which bee would you be?
    A worker who is a martyr and wears her little wings to a nub for the rest of them,
    A nurse who has to look after the little bee brats without rest,
    A drone who gets lucky once then dies,
    Or the queen whos always preggers and pumping out more baby bees?

    I’d rather be me,
    A woman Who works hard for her family but knows she’s appreciated
    A mother who loves her own children- ebut can confidently wave them off to school for the dayaries
    A wife who’s guarenteed to get lucky at least on birthdays,anniverss, or when his sports team wins
    Someone who is blessed with 2 beautiful children to fill her arms

    I bet those little bees look out and think “wish I could take a coffee break like that lady!” πŸ™‚

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      October 25, 2011 11:09 AM

      That gave me a good laugh – thank you. ANd yes, when you put it that way, being a bee does not sound all that appealing! I am sure they DO think I am completely lazy…. I would not be welcome in their hive.

  2. October 19, 2011 5:31 PM

    The bees are back! That’s very exciting.

    Sometimes I think I’d like to be a chicken. Or more specifically, one of my chickens… πŸ™‚

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      October 25, 2011 11:06 AM

      Sometimes I would like to be one of your chickens too Celia! Forget about an egg a day though….
      Or I could be Zeb – Joanna’s dog. I get the impression that he is quite the pampered pooch….

  3. October 20, 2011 9:33 PM

    Wishing the new bees a harmonioius and happy life ! My father once pointed me at Nagel and the philosphical problems associated with imagining life from another species perspective – Nagel chose the bat, and my father is very interested in bats – I can’t say I understood it properly but it’s an interesting essay on the problem http://evans-experientialism.freewebspace.com/nagel.htm

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      October 25, 2011 11:05 AM

      Very interesting, thanks for the link.

  4. October 20, 2011 11:34 PM

    This post got me all excited about bees πŸ˜€ Glad they are back in your life!

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      October 25, 2011 11:04 AM

      Me too! πŸ™‚

  5. October 21, 2011 7:03 AM

    I had a little smile at the thought of bringing the first new born home. I so wanted people to keep a good clear two metre radius away from me and the pram. Didn’t people know?!
    Precious cargo indeed. Now good luck with your lovely bees. I hope they are happy, healthy and harmoniously part of your life for a really long time.
    …and today I would like to be a cat. I quite fancy a long snooze on a comfy cushion in the sun. Prrrrrr…

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      October 25, 2011 11:04 AM

      A cat snoozing in the sun…I like it. Perhaps a different animal each day depending on the mood? I decided on SUnday while watching the bees that perhaps they were not a good choice – they don’t take Sundays off for just reading and relaxing! Cats on the other hand….

  6. October 22, 2011 9:51 AM

    Yes, Bees are cool. I want some too. Good luck with honey making

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      October 25, 2011 11:09 AM

      Keeping my fingers crossed for sure!

  7. October 23, 2011 3:53 PM

    Yay, love that the bees are back, and the story of how you got them back. Made me giggle. You are a superstar having bees, you are in fact helping to save the human race. Love your style. πŸ™‚

  8. November 6, 2011 4:35 AM

    I am so happy for you that the bees are abck! yeah!!! Enjoy it !!!:)

  9. December 10, 2011 6:01 AM

    So glad to hear you are onwards and upwards with this one. Fingers crossed for abundant bees, honey and happiness. Goodness knows you certainly deserve it!!

Leave a Reply

