Skip to content

Afternoon tea cake

November 9, 2011

I wanted to make a cake for my kids afternoon tea and for them to take to school in lunchboxes. Tara loves chocolate but does not like berries or citrus all that much. Sam loves berries and citrus but won’t eat chocolate. They won’t eat anything that is too sweet either. So what to make that will suit both kids? I looked through some of my cookbooks looking for inspiration and something new to try. No luck. So I ended up just making up a cake on the run.

It turned out really lovely and light, great ‘cake’ flavour (do you know what I mean by that?!), and a hint of spice. I will be making this again. Hope it gets the tick of approval from the kids. I will have fun making them guess what flavours are in this cake (our latest game – spot the mystery ingredient). This is a really easy and quick cake to mix up by hand in a bowl.

Afternoon tea cake

200gm butter at room temperature
3 large eggs
1/2 cup milk
3/4 cup almond meal
1 cup self-raising flour
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 tablespoon golden syrup
1 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

In a bowl mix the butter, brown sugar and golden syrup until well combined. Add in the eggs one at a time and mix well. Add the spices, vanilla, milk and almond meal and stir until well combined. Add in the flour and mix as little as possible, until just combined. Pour into a cake tin and bake for 30 minutes at 160C fan forced or 180C.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2011 8:30 PM

    Fondly remembering the muffins that I had with coffee at Sydney…they had just the right balance of sweetness

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      November 10, 2011 7:18 AM

      You will just have to try and make some Kalyan, now that you have an oven there is no excuse left!

  2. November 10, 2011 5:35 AM

    You’re so creative! Anytime I make something up like that, it ends up as chook food. 🙂

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      November 10, 2011 7:17 AM

      Ah not always successful. Many, many sourdough bricks get sent to the chooks and dog. Not sure if they eat them or they just compost away…can’t bear to look!

  3. November 10, 2011 6:20 AM

    Tea cake is the solution then, perfect. I would love to have a piece of this with my evening cup of tea in fact – looks and sounds yummy 🙂

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      November 10, 2011 7:16 AM

      It was perfect with a cup of tea Joanna…a bit too perfect really seeing how I kept going back for more….

  4. November 10, 2011 7:04 AM

    They will love it, it sounds so nice, yumm…

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      November 10, 2011 7:16 AM

      It did get the big tick of approval from both kids and Andrew! They all acted totally surprised at how nice it was…like I have never made a nice cake before…I am sure there was a hidden insult in there somewhere! 🙂

  5. November 10, 2011 7:20 AM

    Looking at those ingredients, I’ll bet there is a whole lot of ‘cake flavour’ in there 😉
    It’s always nice to get tick of approval too.

  6. November 12, 2011 6:17 AM

    Your cake looks lovely. I do hope both your children enjoyed it. Lucky them to have home baked cake in their lunch boxes.

  7. November 13, 2011 8:18 PM

    What a lovely cake this is!
    Yummie, yummie, yummie! 😉

  8. November 19, 2011 11:52 PM

    I tried the cake and it was delicious. I loved the flavour and the spicy touch.

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      November 20, 2011 10:46 AM

      I am so happy to hear that! I love it when someone tries one of my “made up” recipes and also likes it. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

