Skip to content

Yes I can!

December 1, 2011

Do you have something that no matter how many times you try it, you just cannot do? Making caramel was one of those things for me. No matter how many times I tried, following the instructions to the finest details, it would always end up in a crystallised hard, unusable lump of sugar. Needless to say, I also then could not make creme caramel or any of those other dishes that require this fairly basic skill.

But no more my friends. I have finally managed to crack it. I cannot describe the excitement in this house over this achievement other than to tell you that I have made creme caramel four times already this week! It is one of our favourite desserts. A thing of beauty when made well. Slightly bitter caramel, silky-smooth custard….what’s not to love?!

We had a really nice version of this when we had dinner at Rockpool Bar and Grill a week or so ago. It inspired me to try making it once again (encouraged by Sam who absolutely loves creme caramel). Fully expecting failure, I threw some things together and it came out rather perfect. Damn, I thought, I really should have measured the ingredients so I can replicate it. Luckily I have made it three more times since then and each of those was a success too. And no, I still haven’t measured anything! Am I asking for trouble or what?! Here is an approximation of what I did:

Creme Caramel (makes 6)

3 tablespoons caster sugar
1 tablespoon water

3 eggs
3 tablespoons caster sugar
200ml cream
400ml milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

In a small saucepan pour in the water and then add the sugar. Put it on a medium stove and don’t be tempted to stir it or in fact do anything at all other than watch it! When it starts to colour, you can gently swirl the saucepan around to get the heat moving evenly. Allow it to get fairly dark in colour and then pour a little in a ramekin. Swirl the caramel around the ramekin quickly so it coats the base and a little of the sides. It will set quickly so do one ramekin at a time – but be quick!

In a small bowl gently whisk the eggs with the sugar. You really don’t want bubbles in the mix so don’t be too enthusiastic with your whisking. Add the remaining ingredients and gently stir together. Divide equally among the ramekins.

Place the ramekins in a dish that you top up with almost boiling water. Bake in a 160C oven for 30-40Β  minutes. Allow to cool for at least 15 minutes in the water bath after you take it out of the oven. Run a knife around the sides and invert onto a plate. Try not to make it every day of the week, particuarly if you are dairy intolerant like me!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2011 4:28 PM

    Oh they look diiiviine!! But..um…don’t they make you sick? πŸ˜‰

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      December 1, 2011 4:59 PM

      Surprisingly not…I think, but I could be fooling myself here. Not as much as expected at any rate given that they have cream in them. But you know me, I am willing to suffer for something delicious! πŸ™‚

  2. December 1, 2011 8:43 PM

    Congratulations! Good for you, I’m so impressed you kept going πŸ™‚

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      December 7, 2011 9:36 AM

      I was mightly impressed with myself too, just quietly! But the madness has now subsided…after making them about 6 times in just over a week (eek!)

  3. December 2, 2011 5:35 AM

    Ahhhh… They get me EVERY time. πŸ™‚ I’m scared of them. Yours look great!

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      December 7, 2011 9:35 AM

      Me too! But you are a chef…surely very easy for you?!!

  4. December 2, 2011 6:12 AM

    Bravo! The first and last time I did this I neatly swirled the caramel round the ramekin and over my hand, maybe now is the time to try again. Yours looks soo good πŸ™‚

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      December 7, 2011 9:34 AM

      Ouch! Yes that is tricky isn’t it – have to rush to get all the ramekins done, meanwhile the sugar continues to cook (and burn)…

  5. December 5, 2011 12:51 PM

    I’ve never attempted these little ramekins of deliciousness. They still scare me a little as well, so I’ll just have to admire yours.
    And four times in the one week?- lucky family!

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      December 7, 2011 9:34 AM

      I too have been living in fear Brydie….but no more. Give them a try…surprisingly easy in the end (once I figured out how to make caramel)

Leave a Reply

