Skip to content

Christmas Eve

December 24, 2011

The gingerbread house creations are all ready (along with a good start made on Tara’s birthday jigsaw puzzle). The kids made up their own house designs and patterns, channeling their inner-architects! A few tears, a few pieces we could not work out what part of which house they belong to (since I threw away the patterns after rolling out the dough)…at least one, and possibly two houses didn’t get built! This year I managed to make the royal icing perfectly and the pieces just stuck together almost immediately with no need for pins, toothpicks or other supports. Perhaps the inner-engineer in me has finally come to the fore?!

The salted butter caramels are all wrapped and ready to take for a post Christmas lunch treat tomorrow. The honey truffles are waiting to be rolled in cocoa. A last minute Christmas cake is cooling on the rack. A batch of sourdough stollen (very experimental) is slowly rising, waiting for its turn in the oven.

The 5kg organic turkey is in the oven for our Christmas eve dinner. I followed the Gordon Ramsay recipe that was on ABC TV last week (much as I dislike the man,  I decided to give his method a try this year).

Look how busy the Sydney Fish Markets were this morning! I made an unplanned visit there since I found myself in the city for some other purpose. I found parking on the street (could not face the long queue to get into the car park), put 45 minutes on the meter and was back in 30! Didn’t think I would ever get served but it ended up being relatively painless. I am sure that if I had planned to go there I would have been stressed by the experience, but since I was there by chance I happily went with the flow and pushed my way through the crowds, coped with being pushed and made my purchases. I bought some Sydney Rock Oysters and prawns to have for our entree tonight; and a giant salmon to take to the family lunch tomorrow. Trying to come up with something creative to make with it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 24, 2011 3:40 PM

    Merry Christmas, SG! All the best to you and your lovely family!

  2. December 24, 2011 5:06 PM

    All your children did very well. I love the icing effect. Merry Christmas xx

  3. InTolerant Chef permalink
    December 24, 2011 7:16 PM

    Just perfect indeed! And don’t worry, gingerbread houses have been known to reduce me to tears before now too 🙂
    Your seafood sounds delicious, and good luck with your salmon. How about stuffing it with herbs and lemon, and baking it in a salt and egg white crust with herbs chopped into it as well. Just pop in the oven and forget for an hour. Nice and painless- and delicious!
    Merry Christmas!

  4. December 24, 2011 9:52 PM

    wow that crowd wouldve driven me insane! hope you have a very merry christmas!

Leave a Reply

