Skip to content

Three good things

January 17, 2012

For many years I have determinedly avoided making any new year resolutions. “Pah!” I said when asked about it. My memory of resolution setting as a child is of making long lists of them, many repeated year after year. Within a few weeks I would start to feel a growing sense of failure and anxiety as I could not keep to most (any?) of them. They were probably mostly silly and mostly impossible – like “be good all the time”. No wonder I grew into an A type personality where successes are ignored and failures focussed on far too much.

This year as a family we decided that we would make some resolutions (the kids wanted to do it). We limited ourselves to three per person and they all had to be achievable and sensible. Feedback and suggestions were encouraged as we negotiated our way through developing the resolutions. We took a few days to do it and let the idea ‘settle’ to see if we could really live with them. It was actually quite a fun process and quite interesting to get a little bit of feedback from the rest of the family as to how they wanted each person to improve or change (or not!). All good.

It got me thinking that in a lighthearted vein, I should come up with three food related resolutions. Eating less fat or sugar or whatever is not what I am talking about at all. When I think back on culinary triumphs of last year, two things stand out for me. One was late in the year – finally being able to make caramel. A basic skill to most, but completely elusive to me for quite a few years. I was so excited about my new-found talent that my family got to eat creme caramel for 5 days that week!

The second thing I am most proud of is the 100% rye sourdough, slow ferment bread I managed to make after many trial attempts. I so loved the fantastic rye bread I ate during my visit to Copenhagen that I was determined to try to recreate it at home. When I finally made a ‘perfect’ version of it (and I had kept detailed notes of quantities, times, etc. – just for a change for me!), I was more than thrilled.

So what could I set as my challenges for 2012?

  1.  I would like to become a super salad maker. I have a few good salads that I make time and time again. Boring. And when I am faced with making a new type of salad, I feel hopelessly lacking in creativity and inspiration. Making fabulous salads would have to be on the list.
  2. Tempering chocolate. Despite having a lesson from the chocolate queen herself (Celia from FJ&LC if you haven’t guessed!), it is still something I am too daunted to try at home. Not this year. Easter should provide good motivation and a deadline for me!
  3. ?? Any suggestions?

How about you? What were your culinary triumphs for 2011? Would you like to set some new year culinary resolutions with me? I would love to hear what your resolutions would be.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2012 3:50 PM

    I am going to do a chocolate course this year for sure! Good luck with all you do 🙂

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      January 18, 2012 12:15 PM

      Chocolate course sounds good…dangerously good in fact! You will have to let us know how you go with it.

  2. January 17, 2012 7:05 PM

    Great idea! Tempering chocolate its tricky! How about boning out a chicken, or cooking a live lobster, or learning to open oysters?

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      January 18, 2012 12:14 PM

      Good suggestions – thanks. Boning a chicken sounds like it would be a good challenge.

  3. January 18, 2012 6:07 AM

    Well, speaking of Easter, last year I made Hot Cross Buns. It is something I’ve said I’ll do every year (like a New Year’s Resolution) but somehow it would just never happen but last year I made them. And they weren’t difficult. They were so delicious and nothing is better than being able to eat a bun straight from the oven.

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      January 18, 2012 12:12 PM

      Ah yes, home made hot cross buns are a mighty fine thing indeed. I started making sourdough ones a couple of easters ago and my family adore them. So, so good.

  4. January 19, 2012 2:48 PM

    Darling, you know how easy it is to temper chocolate, and you’ve done it! Remember, all failures are edible! 🙂

    I’ve kept all my NY resolutions at the moment with the exception of the sit-ups…sigh…

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      February 1, 2012 8:13 AM

      you just make it look easy Celia! I am coming back for a refreseher course before Easter…please?!

Leave a Reply

