Skip to content

Lamb kebabs

March 1, 2012

My friend Sasha sent me a bag full of these gorgeous bishop’s hat chillies. They grow prolifically in her sunshine coast garden. Apparently when she immediately after she picks them off the tree they are mild and taste like capsicums. But a few hours later they are too hot to eat. Isn’t that strange? I suggested she make some chilli jam with them so she sent me down a bag full to try it. Tara and I played with putting them in our button holes and behind our ears since they look like pretty little wax roses.

I am curious to try smoking the chillies before putting them into the chilli sauce/jam. I could not resist barbecuing some of them with our dinner the night they arrived. The verdict – delicious! Smoky and hot. It would have been good to warn the rest of the family about the heat factor before they popped a little gem into their mouths! Oops.

This lamb kebab marinade was a bit different to my usual one, and inspired by something I saw on Luke Nguyen’s new TV show. I usually make a Uighur inspired marinade with lots of cumin (cumin and lamb is a delicious combination)…but this one had quite a lot of ginger in it too. I will be making it again for sure as it was really lovely.

Lamb Kebabs

500gm lamb leg steaks (or similar lean cut of lamb), cut into strips
1 tablespoon cumin seeds
1 teaspoon peppercorns
1 tablespoon fresh new ginger (or half that if using old ginger which is much stronger in flavour)
1/2 teaspoon dry ginger powder
1/4 of a whole nutmeg
1 teaspoon dry chilli flakes
1 teaspoon coriander seeds
1/2 teaspoon salt

Roughly pound all the marinade ingredients together with a mortar and pestle, starting with the dry ingredients first and then adding the wet. Rub the mixture through the lamb strips and thread them onto skewers. Leave to marinate for at least half an hour. Cook on a hot barbecue for a few minutes on each side.

I cooked skewers of mushrooms and the fiery little chillies to go with it. I drizzled some olive oil and sprinkled on some salt before cooking them.
2 tablespoons soy sauce

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2012 1:23 PM

    I think those chillies look really beautiful. Celia from Fig Jam and Lime Cordial grows them too. They are so pretty looking. And your lamb kebabs look sensational. What a yummy dinner!

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      March 1, 2012 1:28 PM

      Yes I had to ring Celia to ask if she had noticed this strange behaviour of the chillies getting hotter after they are picked (she hadn’t). The kebabs were good…in fact writing this up has made me want to make them again…perhaps tonight!

  2. March 1, 2012 3:58 PM

    the marinade sounds great! And those chillies look wonderful and I am sure smoking them will be a great idea 🙂

  3. March 2, 2012 1:51 AM

    Now I am intrigued by those chilis. first plucked they r mild but after some time they get hotter? I can imagine some devious games wit those. ]=)
    they have a unusual shape to, nice for the ideas too.
    By the way your lamb kebabs sound terrific. I d love some right now!

  4. March 2, 2012 7:57 AM

    Cutest chili’s I’ve ever seen…I’ve never heard of this type before! Love how delicious this combination looks. Great job my friend!

  5. March 4, 2012 8:03 AM

    Aren’t you lucky to get so many! I haven’t noticed them getting hotter, so maybe we have a different variety? I’d like to wear them as earrings as well.. 🙂

  6. March 5, 2012 8:08 AM

    Ooooh smoking them would be perfect! I have a bulb of smoked garlic in the fridge that waiting to be put to good use. The trouble is deciding on Judy one recipe!

  7. March 19, 2012 3:45 PM

    Awesome blog, this recipe sounds delicious! Cant wait to cook it myself. If you cant get the fresh chilli’s try http://www.centuriesahead.com.au, we have everything you will need at great prices.

Leave a Reply

