Skip to content

Profiteroles

March 4, 2012

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I had fun making choux pastry and creating little profiteroles and eclairs. I energetically made a batch of pastry cream to stuff in the profiteroles. Then I melted some dark chocolate and mixed it through some of the pastry cream to make a chocolate version for Tara. Topped them with crunchy caramel. They were a big hit with the kids….but so much work…and so many eggs! (Doesn’t the choux pastry have a lovely golden colour from the very orange coloured eggs our chooks have been laying lately?!).Β  The pastry made a huge quantity of the beasties and I quickly got over the novelty of stuffing and topping them. I saved half thinking I would finish them the next day….but sadly they all had to go to the dog and chooks as the desire to do all that work had well and truly evaporated.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2012 7:01 AM

    Now you can progress to a towering pyramid drizzled with toffee like Zumbo on Master Chef! πŸ™‚

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      March 8, 2012 9:46 AM

      Ooh gosh no thanks Bec. Way too hard for me. Just the thought of spinning molten caramel makes me shiver. Not the mention the effort involved in making that mountain of profiteroles! You know when you make the first two or three you think “pah, I don’t know why patisseries charge so much for these – the are so easy to make and the pastry makes so many”. And then by the time you are making the 20th (and your kids are eating them faster than you can fill them) you start to think “yeah, it is totally worth just buying these from the patisserie”!

  2. March 7, 2012 9:11 AM

    Yes, these are a huge effort and good on you for taking on such a project. Your choux pastry looks great and the finished product amazing. And I would just love to have my own chooks!

  3. March 8, 2012 12:20 PM

    I made these once a teenager, but don’t seem to have found the time since then… (even though they are truly delicious.) Lucky kids, no wonder they were eating them faster than you could fill them!

  4. March 9, 2012 6:08 AM

    They look fabulous – I think you can actually freeze an excess you have for next time? Although I know how you feel about the freezer.. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

