Skip to content

Spring flowers

October 13, 2012

Have you been enjoying the spring flowers? These gorgeous ones overhang the top of my driveway at the moment – a gorgeous ‘curtain’ that I enter and leave home through. Normally my neighbour manages to poison this creeper and it does not get much of a chance to bloom in all its glory. It must be a weed I guess…he certainly seems to hate it. It grows very close to his fence line and given half a chance will creep up any tree it can. So it is fair enough that he tries to keep it under control (he knows we won’t since we never seem to make any time for gardening). I do love seeing it though and I am secretly very glad that he missed his chance of taming it this year.

On the other side of our house the jasmine has had a fine time climbing nearby trees and has been in full scented bloom for weeks now. Everywhere the flowers are out, reminding us that spring is here. No wonder my bees have been so busy!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2012 12:40 PM

    Those flowers are very beautiful. I have a jacaranda tree in my front yard that’s just starting to bloom. Can’t wait to see it in all its glory xx

  2. October 18, 2012 8:06 AM

    That’s the prettiest weed I’ve ever seen!

  3. October 23, 2012 8:12 AM

    This isn’t wisteria is it? Does that grow in your part of the world? Much loved here, planted, grows up the front of people’s houses, coveted even……. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wisteria

  4. October 23, 2012 8:14 AM

    I have looked and it seems to grow very happily in Australia http://www.dawsonsgardenworld.com.au/Fact%20sheet%20wisteria.pdf

Leave a Reply

